Pech Merle Cave

Search on the websiteNews & agenda Contact us Menu

The Pech Merle Cave Virtual tour

The Pech Merle Cave

Come and see authentic prehistoric paintings which are over 20,000 years old ! Exceptional works of art are conserved on the walls of the Pech Merle cave. Hundreds of representations adorn the cave : mammoths, bison, horses, aurochs… These figures are in their original natural setting : a breathtaking site with a fascinating geological history.

More info →

The Prehistory Museum

The Prehistory Museum

A visit to the museum is an indispensable complement to a visit of the cave providing more information about the Pech Merle paintings, the main representations in other painted caves in Quercy closed to the public, and 350,000 years of regional prehistory.

More info →

News

  • Visits to the cave during the Christmas holidays 2018

    The cave of Pech Merle can be visited on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays afternoon, from 2 pm to 4 pm, until January 4, 2019. We invite you to book your tickets on our booking system. Happy holidays of end of year...

    read more →

  • Visites de la grotte pendant les vacances de Noël 2018

    La grotte du Pech Merle se visite les mercredis, jeudis et vendredis après-midi, de 14h à 16h, jusqu'au 4 janvier 2019. Nous vous invitons à réserver vos places sur notre système de réservation. Bonnes fêtes de...

    read more →

All the news →
Location of the Pech Merle cave in Cabrerets (Lot)

Location

The Pech Merle cave is located in the commune of Cabrerets, in the Lot département, in the south west of France

How to come →

Pro
zone

Grotte du PechMerle

Rechercher sur le siteActualités & agenda Contactez nous Menu

La grotte du Pech Merle Visite virtuelle

La grotte du Pech Merle

Découvrez des peintures préhistoriques authentiques datant de plus de 20.000 ans ! La grotte du Pech Merle garde sur ses parois des œuvres exceptionnelles. Des centaines de motifs ornent la cavité : mammouths, bisons, chevaux, aurochs… Ces figures sont dans leur cadre naturel d’origine : un site époustouflant à la géologie étonnante.

Plus d'information →

Le musée de préhistoire

Le musée de préhistoire

La visite du musée est le complément indispensable à la visite de la grotte pour en savoir plus sur les œuvres de Pech Merle, les principales figures des autres grottes ornées du Quercy fermées au public, et 350.000 ans de préhistoire régionale.

Plus d'information →

Actualités

  • Visits to the cave during the Christmas holidays 2018

    The cave of Pech Merle can be visited on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays afternoon, from 2 pm to 4 pm, until January 4, 2019. We invite you to book your tickets on our booking system. Happy holidays of end of year...

    lire la suite →

  • Visites de la grotte pendant les vacances de Noël 2018

    La grotte du Pech Merle se visite les mercredis, jeudis et vendredis après-midi, de 14h à 16h, jusqu'au 4 janvier 2019. Nous vous invitons à réserver vos places sur notre système de réservation. Bonnes fêtes de...

    lire la suite →

Toute l'actualité →
Situation de la Grotte du Pech Merle, à Cabrerets dans le Lot

Situation

La grotte du Pech Merle est située sur la commune de Cabrerets, département du Lot, sud ouest de la France.

Comment venir →

Espace
pro